Bantwal: improved livelihoods, social change intentions of SKDRDP – Dr D Veerendra Heggade


Mounesh Vishwakarma

Daijiworld Media Network – Bantwal (EP)

Bantwal, March 16: “Improvement in livelihoods and social change are the intentions of the Shri Kshethra Dharmasthala Rural Development Project (SKDRDP). These are filled by self-help groups,” said Dr D Veerendra Heggade of Dharmasthala.

He was speaking after the inauguration of the Vagga Area Office Members Facility and Achievement Conference held in the Punjalkatte field by the Dharmasthala BC Trust rural development project, Bantwal taluk in cooperation with groups of self-help from Pragathi Bandhu on March 15, 2022.

“The project runs continuously for individual progress and 48,000 members have taken part. Annadana, Vidyadana, Aushadha Dana and Abhayadana help improve living standards,” he said.

He called on women to succeed in life saying that administration improves when female citizens become responsible.

Former minister Nagaraja Shetty hoped the project would spread across the country. Paveen V Nayak, Deputy Comptroller of Cooperative Societies, said Dharmasthala self-help groups operate in the most transparent manner.

Former Minister B Ramanath Rai said that the Dharmasthala Project Self Help Groups are the inspiration for Anganwadi Center Stree Shakti Group Project. The chief executive of the project, Dr LH Manjunath, said 39,000 people have died in the state due to coronavirus and insurance payments of Rs 229 crore are being made to their families. “Project activities become an example,” he said.

President of the Pilathabettu gram panchayat, Harshini Pushpananda, conveyed her wishes. Outgoing Zone President Vagga Sundara Poojary and incoming President Chidananda Rai Kakya also spoke.

Former district panchayat member Tungappa Bangera chaired the program. SBI Mangaluru Zone Director Rajesh Gupta, Former District Panchayat Member Padma Shekhar Jain, Vagga Janajagruthi Vedike Zone Chairman Ronald D’ Souza, Balakrishna Alva, Madhava Olavoor, Madhava Poojary, Chidananda Rai Kakya, Manikyaraj Jain , Mayilappa Salian and Prakash Karanth were on the dais.

Sathish Shetty, BC Road Trust Project District Manager, welcomed the meeting. Bantwal Project Manager Jayananda P cast a vote of thanks. Dinesh Suvarna Rai hosted the program.


Comments are closed.